NUDC, PJM join forces to increase diversity inclusion

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The National Utilities Diversity Council (NUDC) and PJM Interconnection announced a joint internship and fellowship program to identify, recruit and place qualified students and advanced degree earners drawn from communities of diversity.

The purpose of the diversity internship and fellowship program is to increase the number of African-American, American Indian, Asian, Hispanic, women, service disabled war veterans and others in under-represented communities of diversity in the utility industry.

The first placements are expected to take place this fall. Qualified individuals will be placed in PJM departments based on their skill sets and course background. The experience is expected to enhance their employability in the electric power industry.

In this program, selected individuals will be placed in support roles to gain insight into the culture and develop mentor relationships to advise and guide their advancement in the utility industry as a whole.

This new initiative heralds a series of partnerships now in the planning stage by NUDC throughout the United States.

NUDC Board Co-Chair Harold Williams, a member of the Maryland Public Service Commission said, "The program reflects the Council's vision to be the leading source promoting the utilization of diversity best practices in the utility industry and among its stakeholders. We are proud PJM has taken a leadership role in this new Council initiative."

The non-profit NUDC's mission is to foster collaboration among its key stakeholders to create value through thought leadership, research and metrics, education and outreach to actualize the competitive advantages of diversity stakeholders.

Terry Boston, PJM president and CEO, said, "We're excited about the opportunity to participate and committed to developing partnerships through NUDC that will increase diversity in the utility industry. We look forward to a rewarding relationship with NUDC."

Recruitment for PJM will be focused in Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia and the District of Columbia.


in Year